14 Hospital Trusts Investigated For Poor Standard of Care

14 hospital trusts with the worst death rates in the country have been investigated for failing to provide an adequate standard of care or above.

The full report by NHS England found that of the 14, 11 have been placed into special measures according to the Health Secretary Jeremy Hunt.

The review was lead by NHS England medical director Sir Bruce Keogh, and looked into the existing figures to see if further failings were occurring beyond those previously identified by the regulator. The 14 trusts are:

  • Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Burton Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust
  • George Eliot Hospital NHS Trust
  • Medway NHS Foundation Trust
  • North Cumbria University Hospitals NHS Trust (Two hospitals – Cumberland Infirmary and West Cumberland)
  • Northern Lincolnshire and Goole Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Three hospitals – Diana, Princess of Wales Hospital, Goole and District Hospital and Scunthorpe General)
  • Sherwood Forest Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Tameside Hospital NHS Foundation Trust
  • United Lincolnshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Not placed on special measures

  • Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
  • Colchester Hospital University NHS Foundation Trust
  • The Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust


A selection of the failings include several ‘never events’ (serious, largely preventable patient safety incidents), infection control and nutritional and medication requirements for patients. Moreover, in some instances, staff were found to be working for 12 days consecutively without a break, increasing the chances of poor performance through tiredness and exhaustion.

Perhaps most distressing is that these 14 trusts were chosen to represent a snapshot of the current conditions in many of the UK’s hospitals. The worst 20 hospitals could equally have been chosen, or had the parameters been changed or expanded to include further issues such as patient surveys then even more poor performers could have come to light. Despite all of this, the current Care Quality Commission guidelines has warning notices on only 2 of the trusts.

Part of the reason all of the trusts selected were included was because they have the highest death rates of all trusts for the past two years. However, they were also included because of the serious failings in other areas that also caused distress to both patients and staff under the umbrella term of clinical negligence.

Those affected by the failings at these 14 trusts, or indeed under any degree of medical practice may be eligible to make a claim for clinical negligence compensation. At Blackwater Law we understand that the effects of clinical negligence can be catastrophic, both on the affected person’s life and that of their family. Experience and understanding count when you’re making your claim, and that’s why the expert lawyers at Blackwater Law are highly trained specialists in their field of no win no fee clinical and medical compensation claims. If you think you might be entitled to compensation, contact us today on 0800 083 5500 and a member of our professional, helpful and friendly team will be happy to help you.